Skip to content

Preface: “Concerning myself and the first few friends I had”

May 12, 2010

If you’re reading this, it’s because you fall somewhere under the category above.

The quote is from Bobby D. (don’t buy, just listen if you’re curious. Track 8 “Bob Dylan’s Dream”), and I can’t think of a better way to begin this project.

For me, it’s about growing together over the next two years, check in when you will, comment, or better yet, write me an e-mail; correspondence will be my life-blood. I’ve heard many lectures about being properly disconnected from my life here in the US in order to fully enjoy my experience in Mongolia, but with all due respect, I think these are somewhat misguided. I’ve spent my life being an only child, and in my newfound adulthood I’ve decided that what I’m about to do is much less about getting away than it is about sharing it with the people I love.

My father spent a year in a cabin without heat, running water, or electricity. He told me that it wasn’t until he began to write letters that he understood why he was doing what he was doing in that lonely place in Colorado. The dwelling is different, not a log cabin but a Mongolian Ger, but I understand the impetus behind my upcoming journey to be the same. I’m doing this for many reasons, but prime among them is the desire to live every facet of this life in the company of all of you. If I can’t bring your life to Mongolia, I’ll do everything in my power to bring my life here/there to you.

Listen, tell, share and enjoy.

All my best,

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Blorghis Chenawikkuggwallluf permalink
    May 13, 2010 6:04 pm

    Congratulations on magnificent blog. It is popular blog in Mongolia.

  2. Kimberly Oxie permalink
    June 2, 2010 3:01 pm

    Rob: Just heard you are off to the World!
    Having been a World Cultures teacher the last 3 years only heightens my interest in your adventure. Of course, knowing YOU is my first and foremost interest and I will check in from time to time especially because I love to read what you write!
    All the best – Marco Polo!
    K. Oxie

Leave a Reply

