Skip to content

Preface: Short post for a short trip

May 17, 2010

Quick update from this weekend: I am freshly back in Minnesota after a short trip to see my grandmother in Jacksonville, IL. Having been in New York for the past several months I’d forgotten just how flat central Illinois can be. Refreshing, honestly, as I won’t see land like that for some time. Seeing family gave me some confidence actually, as opposed to what I thought it would do, which is make me think twice about leaving for this length of time.

Recent unrest in Thailand, namely Bangkok, has given me a chance to thank my luck for Mongolia’s stability. Sure, it’s pretty damn cold, but they’ve been a solid democracy for going on almost twenty years now. They certainly have civil protests around elections, but these are a good indication of  the health of their democracy. People are engaged, excited to be part of a growing and dynamic country. I look forward to learning much, much more about ancient AND modern Mongolia in the weeks to come. I’ll try and dispense some of the best bits as they come along.

All my best,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. James Flaherty permalink
    May 20, 2010 4:48 pm

    http://video.nytimes.com/video/2010/05/19/world/asia/1247467872865/a-bitter-spring-for-mongolia-s-nomads.html

    More news, albeit bad news, from Mongolia.

  2. Blorghis permalink
    May 24, 2010 1:45 am

    Zuud not so bad compared to blog update frequency. Mongolia very disappointed.

Leave a Reply

