Skip to content

Arriving in the Dark

June 6, 2010

We did, into Ulaanbaatar last night at about 9PM Mongolian time. I looked out over the plane wing to see no lights in the countryside below, slightly disconcerting, but also a reminder of just how expansive this country is. After getting off the plane, we gathered luggage and immediately boarded a bus to Zuunmod, a smaller town just some 50-60km south of Ulaanbaatar. I was exhausted and went directly to bed last night, but the sight that greeted me as I walked out of the door of our training dormitory this morning was so incredibly reassuring and awe inspiring that words just fail as I try to describe it.

This country is so incredibly beautiful! Gigantic blue sky, wonderfully clear air, rolling green, and almost treeless hills. I just walked in one direction (just OUT, direction is sort of redefined here because everything is so incredibly vast) for 45 minutes this morning because I was so mad to see as much as I possibly could.

We had a short classroom session this morning and then a tour of the town of Zuunmod. This afternoon I took another, slightly longer venture “out” and “up” this time, and a few of my fellow volunteers came with me, nice people. We got up into some higher hills around town and could see clearly over the town of Zuunmod and into the surrounding aimag (province). Needless to say, incredibly beautiful. I cannot wait to post some pictures, but I just can’t get my own computer hooked up to the internet quite yet. Tonight I’m quite exhausted and will probably turn in early, but I decided to stop by the post office for a little internet time to keep all of you updated. Please know I am doing very, very well!

All my best,

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    June 6, 2010 2:12 pm

    Rob,
    I was glad to hear you are there and things are good. I will pass this onto Grandma. We are off to church in Chatam and then to lunch with Steve (Kate is in town).
    Liz

  2. Liz permalink
    June 6, 2010 11:11 pm

    H I rOBM tHINGS SOUND VERY INTERESTING../AND BEAQUTIFUL. i.M GLAD THAT A PART OPF YOUR JOURNEY IS OVER. gRANDMA mEG

Leave a Reply

