Skip to content

Beautiful, Even in the Rain

June 7, 2010

Rainy and cloudy in my town today, but all of the hills are wreathed in a wonderful fog and the weather cooled off dramatically. Comfortable, and very very beautiful.

Quick recap: We had lunch with the US Ambassador to Mongolia today, which was extremely interesting. He’s worked all over the world and this is his first ambassadorial post.  He’s extremely well informed about the country (which of course you would expect), but he had many very interesting things to say. Mongolia’s development and commitment to democracy is extremely impressive and encouraging. I think the Peace Corps is doing the right thing in the right country, at least in this case.

After lunch, we got divided up into our training groups and learned where we’ll be spending the summer. I’ve been placed in my training town. There are about 10 other volunteer trainees with me there and we’ll all be living with host families. We’ll also go through  some professional training to help make us better teachers. I’ve got some good people in my group that I hope can become good friends, and I’ve already made a few here during orientation. Part of me will be sad to leave them for the summer, though we could possibly end up being posted at permanent sites nearby later on. We had our first Mongolian language lesson today! Sain Bain uu?! (it means “hello, how are you?”)

Glad to be able to share all of this with you guys at home. I hope you’re all doing well. Don’t forget to send me updates on your lives! It’s tough for me to respond to all e-mails at the moment, so I apologize if I haven’t gotten back to you yet. I assure you I’ve received them and they’ve been wonderful.

All my best,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita Seabrook permalink
    June 7, 2010 1:39 pm

    I’m glad you made it safely, Rob! And looking forward to more stories and lots of pictures. Did you ever see ‘Babies’ like I suggested?!

  2. Emily Kaufmann permalink
    June 7, 2010 3:40 pm

    Wonderful! Sounds like you are having a great time already! It was 100 degrees here at ten o’clock last night so I am envious of your cool weather! Have fun!

  3. Erin Kaufmann and Thomas permalink
    June 7, 2010 10:54 pm

    Rob,
    TJ and I read your update and we feel like we are on this adventure with you! We like your descriptions of the country and look forward to more! Take care!

Leave a Reply

