Skip to content

Horse Races, First English Lesson

June 21, 2010

Went to our town’s horse race yesterday. Abolutely amazing. I’ll include a few photos here so you can have a look.

After traveling a considerable distance (I couldn’t really get an exact measure of how far), a field of 20-some riders comes tearing across the plain to gallop into a photo finish right where all of the spectators are waiting. The young riders (some no more than 4 years old) are all so incredibly skilled, using their Tashoor (horse whip) and letting out crying yelps to urge their mounts to go just a little bit faster. It was very cool to watch; it felt partly like I was intruding on a practice that had been going on for the last 1000 years…and in a sense, I probably was. I think these races will continue throughout July as Naadam (the summer festival of the three manly sports: archery, wrestling, riding) is celebrated on different dates by different towns throughout Mongolia. Hope you enjoy the pictures.

Today I taught my first English lesson. I only had four students and was only responsible for about 20 minutes of time so we just covered a few basic greetings. I was told people “liked my energy” so I suppose those years of being up on stage are coming in handy now! I’ll be teaching a bit more as these weeks go on, but this first toe in the water felt really quite comfortable.

 

All my best,

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rita Seabrook permalink
    June 21, 2010 5:33 pm

    Your youngest host sibling is ADORABLE! Loving the pictures. What the water/electricity/heat situation like over there?

  2. Auntie Ann permalink
    June 23, 2010 3:39 am

    Wonderful photos! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Lainey permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:22 am

    Oh my goodness… ditto to what Rita said. You know my weakness for adorable Asian babies, I’m dying over here!!!

Leave a Reply

