Skip to content

Mid-Center Days, Hiking to the Monastery

July 10, 2010

We’ve had Mid-Center days in the Aimag center for the end of this week. Aimag centers are the provincial capitals of each Mongolian Aimag, and so all 75 Peace Corps Trainees came in this week for a few extra informational seminars and also as a break from our host communities. It was a great chance to see friends that have been based in other towns during training.

Wednesday evening a few of us went on a hike to a ruined monastery which was about a 2 and a half hour walk from town. It’s probably one of the quietest place I have ever been. I thought I heard a large animal walking purposefully behind me, but it was actually just the sound of my own heart beating in my ears. I took a few photos which are below.

The other photos are from the Naadam horse race in Erdene a few days ago. Enjoy.

All my best,

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 1:15 am

    Rob – I’ve had a nice Sunday with Ann, her son Kevin, here from California, and we all drove to Minneapolis to have a little visit with your parents–it’s sure nice to hear from you too every once in awhile. Hope all is going well. Keep in touch. Love, G’ma

  2. Sam permalink
    July 14, 2010 3:44 am

    Is this a Jewish monastery?

Leave a Reply

