Skip to content

A Fever Pitch

July 27, 2010

The pace has reached frenetic around here. I’m sorry I’ve been so absent in blog posts recently, but it’s all I can do to just make sure I’ve got my lessons planned (as I’m teaching 4 days a week), and to do my Mongolian language homework as I still have language classes every day from 9-1. Current volunteers talk about the “time to think” that you have once you’re at site–in a couple weeks, I’ll be ready for exactly that.

Speaking of which, “a couple weeks” is really a reality. I’ll be notified of my permanent site placement on August 15, and I’ll be leaving my cozy training site and my host-family even before that. Am I nervous? Certainly, but I’m also ready to strike out on my own here, at least for a while.

I’ve really only got a few minutes to be on the internet this evening. I just finished teaching my last class this afternoon at about 4:30 and I’ve got to head back up to the school at 6 to be in time for our Mongolian dance practice. We’re learning a traditional Mongolian dance to perform (in costume of course) for the talent show during our swearing-in ceremony. This is apparently a favorite event every year, and it even ends up being broadcast on Mongolian National Television. For one brief moment, I will be something of a Mongolian celebrity. I think all of this does eventually end up on youtube, so I’ll let you know how to find it once it’s been posted. If you’ve ever wanted to see me galloping around a stage impersonating a horse racer while dressed in traditional Mongolian garb…well…you’re wish has been granted…

I hope you all are well.

All my best,

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah Powers permalink
    July 28, 2010 2:44 am

    I am waiting for that video with bated breath.

Leave a Reply

