Skip to content

Addendum: Getting Our Hands Dirty

August 12, 2010

After our first attempt at re-cementing the basketball court was skunked on Sunday because of a rainy forecast (Of course, we didn’t see a drop that day), we got our project underway on Tuesday. I’ve included lots of photos of us hard at work, and the many little hands that came out to help us. It was a pretty fun afternoon. Judge for yourselves, but I think we did a pretty good job. There might just be a new Lebron James coming out of our town in Mongolia now that they can practice on a decent court. We were sure to leave our mark as well. We carved M-21 into the wet cement for the sake of posterity (the 21st group to come to Mongolia since it first became a Peace Corps country in 1990).

Today is my Language Proficiency Test. I signed up for the last time slot, so I’ve just got an open day here to stew in my anxiety about holding a conversation in Mongolian for roughly 20 minutes. We have to test at a level of “Novice High” in order to be considered passing. If I don’t pass, it’s not a huge deal, but I will have to set up private tutoring lessons once I get to site and then be retested in December at In-Service Training.

All my best,

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:38 pm

    Nice haircut, kiddo!!

Leave a Reply

