Skip to content

Out of the Frying Pan and Into the Fire

August 15, 2010

Well, get out your atlas, because here comes the info.

I’m headed to the small town of Tsogttsetsii, in  South-Gobi province (Omnigovi in Mongolian). The largest and most southern province in all of Mongolia. From here on out, I’m a desert dweller. The vastness of the Gobi will be my backdrop for the next two years.

As far as people and other PCVs are concerned, there are few that are more “in it” as I will be. I’m living in a ger, and there will not be any other PCVs at my site, though one friend from my training group is in the provincial center that’s about an hour or two away from me. I don’t know much about my school, other than that I’ll be teaching 8-10th graders it seems like. I’m fairly certain that there has never been a PCV in this particular site before. I’m nervous, but also excited. I will have what many have said will be only the most authentic Mongolian experience. I guess somebody out there thinks I can do it, so I hope they’re right.

Some good things about the area…employment is very high by Mongolian standards. The proximity to major Mongolian mining projects means money is flowing around freely, and lots of people have work. As a result, there’s very little crime. I hope that means people are happy around there, because in a big empty desert, I think that will make a big difference. It’s also not quite so cold down there, though I’ll pay for that with very hot summers. There are also dinosaur bones galore in the Gobi, so expect some fossil souvenirs. Tonight we’re headed out to dinner together. Should be fun, but tonight, this is one happy PCV.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. jaci di Stefano permalink
    August 16, 2010 5:45 pm

    best of luck, what an adventure!

  2. Kimberly Oxie permalink
    August 16, 2010 10:09 pm

    I’m headed for my ATLAS!
    Does mining projects mean access to Internet?????
    And – will you get snail mail there or just EMail?????
    Send me details.
    Oh…and can you include in your blog a phonetic interpretation of Tsogttsetsii?

  3. Dianne VT permalink
    August 16, 2010 10:16 pm

    Holy cow! Steve wants to know how much it’s worth to you for him NOT to point out to your mother that this place is not even shown in the National Geographic Atlas of the World. Seriously, you would not believe how much I had to zoom in on Google Earth just to see where the place is.

  4. August 22, 2010 7:08 pm

    Wow……..always wanted to go to the Gobi desert…..you have a tough assignment…..and the PCV director knows you are up to it…..you are going to an area that must be where Roy chapman Andrews….the Beloit anthro prof took expeditions in the early 1900’s….he went on to be the Director of the Museumof NATURAL HISTORY in NYC…..trust your email will work….wow…..and remember your dairy…..thinking of you at this end….Big Al….

  5. August 22, 2010 7:10 pm

    ROB,

    did read Travels with Charly years ago….try EM Forrestor and Graham Greene….two oldies but goodies….Big Al

  6. Sam permalink
    August 24, 2010 4:56 am

    Looks fun! Good luck!

  7. September 10, 2010 1:22 pm

    Looking forward to your posts from Mongolia! I love following these peace corp blogs, there is so little other literature that comes from this remote corner of the world. Good luck with your new assignment!

Leave a Reply

