Skip to content

Nar Shingekh (Sunset) and a Few Golden Oldies

October 11, 2010

I came out of my Ger at about 6:45 the other night to get some coal for my evening fire and I was treated to this sunset just over the fence of my yard–I thought I’d share it with you.

The other photos are from the last day with my host family. They took me to the giant statue of Chinggis Khan that is just a few miles from our training site. It’s a big tourist draw as it’s a fairly short drive from UB as well. They’ve got a nice museum set up to go along with the price of admission, and for an extra 1000 tugriks, you too can dress up like a 13th century Mongol warrior. You can also climb some stairs and walk out on a deck that serves as the giant horse’s mane. It’s sort of like getting up to the top of the Statue of Liberty with an ocean of grassland to look out on.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

