Skip to content

This is Long Overdue

October 28, 2010

I thought I’d quickly share  a link to some Mongolian music this afternoon. The link below is to a traditional Mongolian “Long Song” where the lyrics are sung in a slow, drawn out fashion making for a fluid and dramatic sound. The singer is accompanied by the traditional Morin Khuur (horse-head fiddle), and to my ear, it’s absolutely gorgeous. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen music fit a culture and landscape as well as Mongolian music seems to. The song’s title is Tenger Ayalguu, which means “Sky Harmony” or “Sky Melody.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5UEEkNb7gc”

Enjoy…

All my best,

p.s. having trouble imbedding the video, so copy and past the link into your browser without the quote marks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    October 28, 2010 5:58 am

    Rob, I know you’re busy saving Mongolia and stuff, but something’s been bothering me. When you sign the “All my best,” there’s no name underneath. It looks like this:

    All my best,

    LEAVE A COMMENT

    [It looks like someone named “LEAVE A COMMENT” wrote the post!!]

    I could forgive that if it was the only issue. (Perhaps you assume that your name will appear where the “LEAVE A COMMENT” is?) But when you put a P.S. directly below the “All my best,” what are you thinking??!! You know your name isn’t going to show up beneath the “All my best”!! Maybe you should lay off the mare’s milk for a bit and let your brain recover some lost cells!

    Otherwise, I’m enjoying the blog. We all miss ya, bud. Keep doing good things.

    Ur pal,

    P.S. Cool pix… but why none of you?!

    • October 28, 2010 8:17 am

      I sign all my best because it’s like a letter ya jerk, I know my name’s not underneath it! and I’m pretty sure it’s you who’s drinking mare’s milk if you think “Leave a comment” looks like my name. and yes, no pics of me because I’m the one taking the pictures. It’s a little tough to be in front of the camera when you’re always behind it.

  2. Molly permalink
    October 31, 2010 9:43 pm

    I think we need to give credit where credit is due. Our Robbie G has finally outgrown his fetish for the ellipsis… mostly. See what I did there?

Leave a Reply

