Skip to content

“My seatmate on the bus was a goat, and ALWAYS include the village elders…”

January 11, 2011

In case it’s slipped by you, this year (2011) marks the 50th anniversary of the Peace Corps. It’s also the 20th anniversary of PCM (Peace Corps Mongolia). The video that I’ve linked below has been floating around volunteers lately, and we all think it’s pretty true to form. Somebody must have hired a pretty good ad agency:

I’m not sure if it’s intended as a TV spot, or merely a little video special that’s circulating around the internet. Either way, I think it’s pretty funny. No offense to my readers out there, but the incredulous looks this guy is getting are frighteningly familiar–usually offered by my listeners when I reach the punch-line of one of my many Mongolian anecdotes.

To all my fellow past, current, and soon-to-be PCVs, you definitely know where this ad is coming from.

Happy 50th Anniversary to you, PC.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 12:57 pm

    Rob,

    has not slipped by me….getting together with those of us still alive in Sept in DC from SLI……9 on 9…have you moved into 8?????….it’s 4 of 4 in the Burgh…and I think if I understand 9 0n 9 ….we are now in phase 2….20 years in Mongolia….wow….keep up the work……

    Big Al

Leave a Reply

