Skip to content

Mongolian Mother’s Day

March 6, 2011

In honor of Mother’s Day, my counterpart and I organized a school concert in English. We’ve spent the last three weeks coaching students in pronunciation and memorization to perform dances, songs, and poems (all in English) to celebrate Mums.

I sang of course, in Mongolian, but I learned a new song for the occasion–Minii Eej, “My Mother.”  The real star of the show however was one very talented young Mongolian gentleman. I’d love to be able to say I coached him to sing like this, but I didn’t do a thing! About a week before the concert, he walked into one of our rehearsals and his homeroom teacher just said, “You have to hear this.” He sang right there and then, without accompaniment, and as soon as he opened his mouth, I had to pick my jaw up off the floor. At the tender age of nine (nine!), he’s like a little Mongolian Justin Bieber.

Wee Mongolian Lad:

Yours truly:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Margaret permalink
    March 6, 2011 7:38 pm

    Is there such a thing as Mongolian Idol? I think you’d be a shoo-in.

Leave a Reply

