Skip to content

Uncle Walt and Sweaty-Toothed Madmen

April 13, 2011

Uncle Walt made an appearance in the Times today, as a part of their series, “Disunion,” about the country’s descent into civil war. For my money, it doesn’t get much better than Drum-Taps.

Things are starting to heat up for me around town as they cool down at school. After the academic olympics, people seem to relax a bit at school as we, and the weather, gently slide toward summer. It’s warm! And I’m not just saying so in comparison to how cold it was in January; mid-April has seen temperatures in the 70s regularly. I’ve finally got a much-needed break from fire-building and seeing my breath inside when I wake up in the morning.

It can make a boy antsy though. I can’t pretend I’m not really excited about family visits and a trip to the US in the near future. March officially marked the longest continuous period of time I’ve been off American soil. Even my year in England only tallied up to a little more than 9 months away when all was said and done. I love the desert, no doubt about that, but it’s been so long since I’ve seen a something green–Leaves of Grass, maybe? (Groans are appropriate…)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paul Kaufmann permalink
    April 16, 2011 12:39 am

    Hope all is well. Thinking about you. You are almost half way done. Sure you will never look at things the same.

    Uncle Dick and I are going to NY and Phila in June to see the Yankees and the Phillies. Also will play golf.

    Love,
    Uncle Paul

Leave a Reply

